23.1 C
Sunday, December 10, 2023

APC to chair 48 Senate committees, PDP 18

Must read

The Senate President, GodsWill Akpabio, on Monday, unveiled the 74 Standing Committees of the 10th Senate.

Of the 74 Standing Committees, senators on the platform of the ruling All Progressives Congress were named chairmen of 48.

The major opposition party, the People’s Democratic Party, got 18 chairmanship slots, while four slots ended up in the hands of members of the Labour Party.

The Social Democratic Party got two chairmanship slots; the All Progressive Grand Alliance got one, and the Young People’s Party also got one.

Reacting to the spread of the chairmanship slots, Senator Siyako Anthony (PDP Gombe South) said the list was being analyzed by PDP senators.

Siyako, who got the Vice Chairmanship position of the Senate Committee on Diaspora and NGO, said it was too early to comment on whether the committees’ composition was lopsided.

He said, “I don’t want to see the composition of the committees from the perspective of political parties since the Senate is one, but the composition is still being analyzed. Let’s see when the water settles.”

Another lawmaker who didn’t want to be mentioned also corroborated his colleague, stating that they were still observing the situation.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article