23.1 C
Sunday, December 10, 2023

Diri swears in chairman, members of Bayelsa electoral body, BYSIEC

Must read

The Bayelsa State governor, Douye Diri has sworn in the chairman and members of the Bayelsa State Independent Electoral Commission and the State Civil Service Commission.

After administering the Oath of Office, the governor tasked members on conducting a credible local government election that would serve as a benchmark for Nigeria.

A former commissioner for sports and youth development, Perekiye Buruboyefe, leads the State Civil Service Commission.

The swearing-in ceremony took place at the Government House in Yenagoa on Wednesday.

He also tasked the commission to exercise its independence in the discharge of its assignment.

The immediate-past chairman of the state civil service commission, Peter Singabele, now heads the BYSIEC, while Elliot Osomu and Mary John are members.

A statement by his Chief Press Secretary, Mr Daniel Alabrah, said the governor also swore in the state’s Auditor-General, Tarimotimi Dounana, and his local government counterpart, Fagha Prenanagha, as well as a member of the state judicial service commission, Ogidi-Oke Ayibakuro.

Diri said that the appointments were based on merit and the individuals’ track record of achievements.

The governor partly said, “For all of those sworn in, you are not new to governance. So I have very little to say. You had performed creditably and we did not want to make any mistakes. So we took our time to make the appointments.”

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article