25.1 C
Monday, July 22, 2024

INEC orders retirement of four directors in compliance with eight-year tenure policy

Implementation Follows Federal Government Circular, Names Not Disclosed

Must read

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has issued a directive mandating the retirement of four of its directors in adherence to the eight-year tenure policy for directors in the public service. The decision, announced through a statement signed by Sam Olumekun, National Commissioner and Chairman of the Information and Voter Education Committee, comes in alignment with the Federal Government circular HSCF/SPSO/268/T3/2/37 issued on July 27, 2023.

While the statement, released on Wednesday, did not disclose the names of the affected directors, it revealed that two of them served as Heads of Departments at the commission headquarters in Abuja, and the other two held positions as administrative secretaries in various states.

Olumekun emphasized the implementation of the policy following the federal directive, stating, “the commission has approved the implementation of a policy mandating all directors with eight years or more of service to retire from the public sector.” The circular aims to ensure compliance with the established guidelines for the retirement of public service directors.

The statement further highlighted the exemption of clinical officers in the medical cadre from this policy, as clarified in Circular MH. 7205/T/31 dated September 7, 2023. The exemption acknowledges the unique nature of certain roles within the organization.

In closing, Olumekun extended the commission’s best wishes to the affected directors as they embark on their retirement. This move follows the retirement of ten directors from various departments within the commission on December 4, 2023, who had officially reached the mandatory age of 60 or completed 35 years of service.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article