25.1 C
Sunday, February 25, 2024

Massive turnout for rerun, by-elections as over 4.6 million voters secure permanent voter cards

INEC Prepares Extensive Deployment of Personnel and Technology for February 3 Polls

Must read

In a revelation underscoring the fervor surrounding the forthcoming rerun and by-elections scheduled for February 3, a staggering 4,613,197 Permanent Voters’ Cards (PVCs) have been diligently collected by eager voters, reports reveal.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) disclosed this pivotal figure via its online platform, confirming the widespread anticipation for the electoral exercises. Distinctively, 2,189,171 PVCs have been secured for the by-elections, while 2,424,026 PVCs are earmarked for the rerun polls.

Sunday PUNCH investigations, gleaned by Abuja Politico, further unveil the meticulous arrangements underway, with a formidable deployment of 8,500 Bimodal Voters Authentication System units and an impressive contingent of over 35,000 ad-hoc staff slated for deployment across electoral precincts.

Notably, the electoral commission has extended invitations to 74 domestic observers, alongside a lone international observer, tasked with overseeing the electoral proceedings on February 3.

The electoral landscape unfolds with by-elections poised across two senatorial districts—Ebonyi South in Ebonyi State and Yobe East in Yobe State—along with contests in three state constituencies: Chibok in Borno State, Chikun in Kaduna State, and Guma in Benue State. Furthermore, four federal constituencies brace for electoral showdowns: Akoko North East/Akoko North-West in Ondo State, Jalingo/Yorro/Zing in Taraba State, Surulere 1 in Lagos State, and Yauri/Shanga/Ngaski in Kebbi State.

Echoing the judicial mandate, rerun elections are slated for Plateau Central Senatorial District and 13 federal constituencies, with Surulere 1 (Lagos), Gauri/Shanta/Ingaski, Arewa/Dandi (Kebbi), Akoko North East/North West (Ondo), Jalingo/Yorro/Zing (Taraba), Ikono/Ini (Akwa Ibom), Akamkpa/Biase (Cross River State), and Yabo/Shagari (Sokoto State) among the constituencies in focus.

Additionally, rerun elections are poised to sway outcomes in state constituencies spanning Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Cross River, Delta, Enugu, Kaduna, Kano, Nasarawa, Niger, Oyo, Sokoto, and Zamfara, setting the stage for a monumental exercise in democratic expression and political recalibration.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article